The Union Public Service Commission is expected to empanel a list of at least three senior IPS officers this week, paving the way for the appointment of Tamil Nadu’s next Director-General of Police/Head of Police Force, who will hold office for a period of two years, starting July 1, 2019.

The incumbent DGP, T.K. Rajendran, who received a two-year extension of service, will retire by the end of this month.Police sources said J.K. Tripathy (1985 batch) and M.S. Jaffar Sait (1986 batch) are among the frontrunners for the top post, while Sri Lakshmi Prasad, Ashutosh Shukla and Mithilesh Kumar Jha (now on Central deputation) may also find a place on the panel.